Changes to New Jersey’s Unemployment Compensation Law

On July 31, 2023, amendments made last year to New Jersey’s Unemployment Compensation Law will take effect. 

  • Reporting. Employers must now, upon terminating an employee, send to the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development (DLWD) their benefit determination information and a copy of the State-issued Instructions for Claiming Unemployment Benefits (Form BC-10), regardless of whether the terminated employee files a claim for unemployment insurance.
  • Deadlines. Employers must now respond to requests for information from the DLWD within seven days of the request being made, instead of the current 10-day time allotment. Additionally, employers will have seven days after receipt of an initial benefit determination to appeal the determination.
  • Compliance. Employers are now liable for a fine of $500, or 25% of any amount fraudulently withheld, whichever is greater, for willfully failing or refusing to furnish any reports or information required by the Unemployment Compensation Law.

For more information on the state’s Unemployment Insurance program, click here.